Data Pandas Logo

Countries That Use Fahrenheit

Countries That Use Fahrenheit


The Fahrenheit temperature scale, first proposed by physicist Daniel Gabriel Fahrenheit in 1724, was once the predominant temperature measurement in much of the world. However, today, much of the globe has transitioned to the Celsius or Kelvin scales, leaving only a handful of countries and territories that still adhere to the Fahrenheit system. One of the most recognized of these Fahrenheit followers is the United States, famous for its resistance to the global shift towards the metric system.

  • A total of 18 countries and territories primarily still use Fahrenheit as their principal system for measuring temperature. 
  • The United States remains the most populous and globally influential country using the Fahrenheit scale. This standard has extended to most U.S. territories, including Puerto Rico, Guam, and the Northern Mariana Islands. 
  • Various countries and territories with strong historical or cultural links to the U.S., such as the Bahamas, Liberia, and Belize, also continue to use the Fahrenheit system. 
  • A few unexpected places also use Fahrenheit, such as Cyprus in Europe and a number of countries in the Pacific including Marshall Islands, Palau, and Micronesia. 
  • It's also interesting to note that British Virgin Islands, a British Overseas Territory, use Fahrenheit, contrary to the Celsius scale used in the United Kingdom.

By Country

Full Data Set

Frequently Asked Questions


State Name

Sample Content
Need Help?:
Need the full dataset or have any questions? Our team is happy to help. Contact us at: [email protected]