Data Pandas Logo

Countries That Recognize Taiwan

Countries That Recognize Taiwan
This is some text inside of a div block.


Taiwan, officially known as the Republic of China (ROC), holds an exceptional position in the world diplomatic landscape. While it operates as a separate political entity with its own government and economy, it is not universally recognized as an independent country. This complex diplomatic tapestry is largely influenced by the One-China Principle, a policy asserting that there is only one China, encompassing both Mainland China and Taiwan. This notion significantly impacts the number of United Nations (UN) member states that formally recognize Taiwan as a sovereign nation.

  • As of early 2024, among 193 United Nations member states and the Holy See (Vatican City State), only 11 officially recognized Taiwan. The countries include Tuvalu, Guatemala, Paraguay, Nauru, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Belize, Eswatini, Haiti, Marshall Islands, Saint Kitts and Nevis, and Vatican City.
  • An overwhelming majority of nations, including significant political entities such as the United States, India, and Russia, do not formally acknowledge Taiwan as an independent country. This could be attributed in part to diplomatic ties with China, where the One-China Principle often prevails.
  • Though formal recognition is limited, Taiwan maintains unofficial relations with 59 UN member states through representative offices and consulates, affirming its significant global presence. As a testament to that, in 2021, the Government of the Republic of China had the 33rd largest diplomatic network in the world with 110 offices.
  • The number of countries that formally recognize Taiwan has seen a decline over the years, with countries such as Costa Rica, Panama, and the Dominican Republic which used to recognize Taiwan, switching their allegiance to China due to Beijing's growing international influence.

Full Data Set

Frequently Asked Questions