Data Pandas Logo

Veto Power Countries

Veto Power Countries
This is some text inside of a div block.

Decoding the Dynamics of Veto Power

The United Nations (UN), one of the world's most crucial diplomatic platforms, can often seem like a labyrinth of powers and protocols. One of the most notable and oft-debated mechanisms is the Security Council veto power. This power resides exclusively with the five permanent members of the UN Security Council, namely China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom, and the United States. 

The veto power lends these five nations the unique privilege to thwart any "substantive" resolution in the council. Interestingly, this group of veto-holding nations corresponds perfectly with the quintet of nuclear-weapon states (NWS) recognized under the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons. This adds another layer of complexity and clout to their international standing.

By Country

Full Data Set

Frequently Asked Questions