Data Pandas Logo

States that have Banned Critical Race Theory

States that have Banned Critical Race Theory
This is some text inside of a div block.


Critical Race Theory (CRT) has become a contentious topic in the United States, sparking debates in academia, politics, and education. This framework, developed during the mid-1970s examines the relationship between law, race, and racism. However, the interpretation of CRT has varied considerably, particularly in educational settings.

Critics argue that teaching CRT might lead to societal divisiveness, while supporters assert it provides a more comprehensive understanding of systemic racism and its impact. Consequently, this has culminated in a surge of legislative efforts at the state level to regulate or ban the blanket teaching of CRT in classrooms.

Key findings indicate:

  • Several states such as Tennessee, Alabama, Iowa, Arkansas, Mississippi, Texas, Oklahoma, New Hampshire, Utah, Montana, Arizona, North Dakota, Virginia, Georgia, South Dakota, Idaho have taken affirmative steps to ban the teaching of CRT.
  • States including Minnesota, West Virginia, Nebraska, New York, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, New Mexico, Colorado, Ohio, Louisiana, Washington, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Florida, Missouri, Michigan, New Jersey, Alaska, Illinois are considering a ban at various legislative stages.
  • In three states, namely Indiana, Wyoming, Rhode Island, North Carolina, Wisconsin, and Maine, attempts to ban CRT have failed to pass.
  • However, other states like Hawaii, Nevada, Vermont, California, Connecticut, Oregon, Delaware, Massachusetts have decided not to restrict CRT, indicating a stark contrast in legislative praxis across the country.

In spite of the controversy surrounding CRT, it is clear that the debate over its merits and potential drawbacks continues to influence educational policies across the U.S.

By State

Full Data Set

Frequently Asked Questions