Data Pandas Logo

States without Daylight Savings

States without Daylight Savings
This is some text inside of a div block.

Daylight Savings Time across the U.S. States

In the cyclical rhythm of our lives and the steady march of time, daylight saving time (DST) is a unique practice, a biannual tinkering with the clock to extend evening daylight. A significant majority of United States observe this semi-annual ritual in which clocks "spring forward" by one hour in spring and "fall back" in fall, operating under the daylight saving time for 238 days, almost 65% of the year. Yet, some exceptions exist within this tapestry of timekeeping, impacting the daily routines of individuals in these regions.

  • All but two of the 50 states and the District of Columbia observe Daylight Saving Time. This is a widespread practice that has been made uniform across states by the Uniform Time Act of 1966 and is predominantly accepted and respected across the country.
  • The only U.S. states that have chosen not to observe DST are Arizona and Hawaii, creating a regional anomaly where these states operate on a different clock compared to their neighboring regions during the DST period. It's worth noting that within Arizona, the Navajo Nation is the exception to the exception; they observe DST to be in sync with the rest of their tribal territories in other states.
  • Recent federal legislation initiatives, like the Sunshine Protection Act, propose to make DST permanent, indicating that the conversation around how we measure and manage time is ongoing and dynamic.
  • Despite the perennial discussions about the effectiveness and relevance of DST, it remains a significant part of the American lifestyle and has played a major part in influencing the societal and economic rhythms of the United States.

By State

Full Data Set

Frequently Asked Questions