Data Pandas Logo

Sanctuary States

Sanctuary States
This is some text inside of a div block.


In the politically charged landscape of contemporary discourse, the term "sanctuary state" is often met with different interpretations. For clarity, a sanctuary state is a state that limits its cooperation with federal immigration enforcement agents in order to protect immigrants residing within its borders. Notably, this protection is not absolute, with individuals guilty of serious crimes still being liable for legal consequences.

Sanctuary states have gained attention primarily due to their contradiction of stringent federal views, particularly those amplified during President Donald Trump's tenure, advocating for comprehensive immigration crackdowns. The existence of these states, thus, signals significant divergences in immigration views across the United States.

  • Out of the 50 States and the District of Columbia, 11 States and the DC have officially adopted sanctuary policies.
  • Both East and West coast states like New York, New Jersey, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Vermont, Washington, Oregon, and California have adopted the sanctuary state status indicating a regional pattern along the coasts.
  • The District of Columbia, despite its unique federal status, aligns with the sanctuary ideology, indicating that this policy approach extends beyond traditional state bounds.
  • Despite legal and political opposition in recent years, the number of sanctuary states has increased, attesting to the growing resonance of progressive attitudes toward immigration.

Full Data Set

Frequently Asked Questions