Data Pandas Logo

Fireworks Laws By State

Fireworks Laws By State
This is some text inside of a div block.


Fireworks have an indubitable charm. From their breathtaking beauty to the thrill they bring when they burst in the night sky, these spectacular displays have been associated with joy, celebration, and camaraderie. That said, the usage and regulations of fireworks vary greatly across the United States, primarily centering on safety concerns and noise pollution considerations.

  • A majority of states permit most consumer fireworks. States in this category showcase a general trend towards embracing these dazzling spectacles, albeit with safety regulations in place.
  • A smaller number of states such as Connecticut, Minnesota, New Jersey, and Maryland allow only non-aerial and non-explosive fireworks. This category includes sparklers, ground spinners, poppers, and snakes, which are considered relatively safe for consumer use.
  • Massachusetts stands alone as the only state where all consumer fireworks are banned. This indicates a strict restriction policy prioritizing safety and noise control above the festivity of firework displays.
  • Hawaii, Nevada, and Wyoming manage firework regulations at the county level, allowing local governments to establish guidelines best suited for their community's safety and noise preferences.
  • Despite the variety in regulations across states, all 49 states that permit fireworks agree on the necessity of safety precautions, including regulations on gunpowder content and fuse burning duration.

Full Data Set

Frequently Asked Questions