Data Pandas Logo

AFC Teams by State

AFC Teams by State
This is some text inside of a div block.

Navigating the American Football Conference Landscape

Dating back to its inception due to the 1970 merger between the National Football League and the American Football League, the American Football Conference (AFC) has matured to become one of the two primary divisions in modern American professional football, alongside its counterpart, the National Football Conference (NFC). While each conference consists of 16 teams spread across four divisions, the geographical distribution of these AFC teams across the United States is far from uniform. This insight can shed light on not only the historical expansion and realignment of the league, but also the concentration of fan bases at a state level, and the implications on issues such as revenue streams, viewership ratings, and regional rivalries.

Key insights:

  • The AFC's footprint is quite broad, spanning 14 states from coast to coast.
  • Florida and Ohio are homes to two AFC teams each - the Jacksonville Jaguars and Miami Dolphins in Florida and the Cincinnati Bengals and Cleveland Browns in Ohio.
  • The recent relocation of the Raiders to Nevada makes it the latest state to join the tapestry of the AFC landscape. The move from California to Nevada marks an attempt to tap into the burgeoning sports market in Las Vegas.
  • States such as Indiana and Missouri, with traditionally robust college football cultures, extend that passion to the professional level, being hosts to the Indianapolis Colts and Kansas City Chiefs, respectively.



By State

Full Data Set

Frequently Asked Questions