Data Pandas Logo

States with No Income Tax

States with No Income Tax
This is some text inside of a div block.

Looking at States with No Income Tax

In the U.S, the system of taxation differs significantly from state to state. While numerous states impose income tax on their residents' earnings, a select few have chosen a different path. Seven states in the nation currently do not levy a state income tax - Alaska, Florida, Nevada, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, and Wyoming. However, the absence of income tax does not equate to the absence of taxation as a whole. To fund necessary public services and infrastructure, these states often impose higher rates for sales, property, or other categories of tax.

It's worth noting that two states feature a hybrid model, displaying variations in their tax system: Washington and New Hampshire. While they don't tax wages, these states levy taxes on certain dividends and interests. 

Key findings from the data are as follows:

  • Seven states — Alaska, Florida, Nevada, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Wyoming — currently have no state income tax.
  • However, two states (Washington and New Hampshire) have variable tax conditions, implying they do not tax wages, but charge taxes on select dividends and interest.
  • The remaining states in the U.S. apply income tax to their residents.
  • Despite income tax absence in certain states, residents may incur potentially high tax charges in other areas, such as sales or property tax, indicating that states devise alternative taxation methods to generate necessary revenue.
  • Although Alaska has no state income tax, it repealed its income tax laws just in recent years as the Trans-Alaska Pipeline helped it bring in billions in new revenue.

By State

Full Data Set

Frequently Asked Questions